About Romania and Her People: Céline Dion

I was watching [Nadia Comăneci], and she almost changed my destiny. I was so much in love with her strength, her dedication, her hard work. I wanted to be just like her. It was not only about gymnastics. It was her whole demeanor.

– Céline Dion, one of the world’s greatest singers, made a touching statement about Nadia Comăneci, whom she has admired since the 1976 Montreal Olympic Games. Canadian-born Dion was only eight when Comăneci, at 14, received the first perfect 10 in gymnastics at an Olympics. 

Dion also remembered her first meeting with Comăneci in an interview for Las Vegas Review-Journal, at the Atlanta Olympic Games in 1996.

She was in her hotel room with her husband and manager, Rene Angelil, when there was a knock on the door. “I opened the door … and she was there. It freaked me out,” Dion said.

Angelil had set up the surprise introduction, with a camera crew to record it. It was a “10” moment. “Meeting someone you looked up to for so long. In a way she changed my life,” Dion said.

People about Romania - Celine Dion

