About Romania and Her People: Queen Marie of Romania

I was barely seventeen when I came to you. I was young and unwitting, but very proud of my native country, and even now, I am proud to have been born an Englishwoman. When I embraced a new nationality I endeavored to become a good Romanian. At first it was not easy. I was a stranger in a foreign country, alone among strangers. […] I became yours through the joy and the pain. 

[…] It was given to me to live with you, my nation, hard times and moments of great fulfillment. For a time I was chosen to be your guide, to be your inspiration, to be the one who kept the flame alive, the one who became the center of steeliness in the darkest days.

  
People about Romania - Queen Marie of Romania
 
Special thanks to Memento Mori for this photo
 
